2019 Concert Schedule

The current concert schedule is shown below. Occasionally, it is necessary to cancel a concert due to weather. We cancel only to protect our players, crew, and audience. Concert will usually be attempted rather than cancelled for rain. Cancellations for rain will not be made before 5:30 PM. Concerts are cancelled immediately if lightning is seen. Announcements will be done through social media and the KMRY Weather Line at 393-0500. Click on a concert location to bring up a map showing where it is! All concerts start at 7:30 PM unless otherwise noted.

In addition, we have small groups at the Farmers Market this year! Come find us on 25 May, 1 June, and 15 June downtown.

Date Site
Wed Jun 5 New Bo City Market — YES, they are open on Wednesdays now!

Special Note: Please do not bring alcohol to this event. This is per New Bo’s liquor license. You should be able to purchase some on site.

Sun Jun 9 Bever Park with a prelude concert by the Cedar Rapids Youth Wind Ensemble at 6:30.
Wed Jun 12 Cleveland School
Sun Jun 16 Bever Park with a prelude concert by the New Horizons Band at 6:15.
Wed Jun 19 History Center. A new venue for us! Plenty of parking in the parkade next to the facility.
Sun Jun 23 Ellis Park with a prelude concert by CR Jazz at 6:30
Wed Jun 26 McGrath Amphitheater
Sun Jun 30 Bever Park
Wed Jul 3 Guthridge Park
Sun Jul 7 McGrath Amphitheater
Wed Jul 10 Johnson STEAM Academy with a prelude concert by the Johnson Elementary music groups! 6:30!
Sun Jul 14 Noelridge Park
Wed Jul 17 Cleveland School
Sun Jul 21 Bever Park with a prelude concert by the Coe College Youth Flute Ensemble
Wed Jul 24 Bowman Woods
Sun Jul 28 Ellis Park
Wed Jul 31 Noelridge Park
Sat Aug 3 Guthridge Park at 3 PM for Hiawatha Fun Days!
Sun Aug 4 Bever Park with a prelude concert by the Liberty Band at 6:30

Anyone who requires an auxiliary aid or service for effective communication, or a modification of policies or procedures to participate in a City program, service, or activity, should contact the Municipal Band Business Manager at 319-431-9649 or email business AT crmuniband.org as soon as possible but no later than 48 hours before the event.

Last call! Join us for three concerts during the final week of our season

We’re wrapping up the 2019 season–but first, we’ve got three more concerts to play! Wednesday, July 31 at 7:30 pm — Noelridge ParkSaturday, Aug. 3 at 3 pm — Guthridge Park as part of Hiawatha Fun FestSunday, Aug. 4 at 7:30 pm (6:30 Prelude concert) — Bever Park At these performances:• We feature our own …

Read more

Just hear those sleigh bells…Wait.

This week, join us for spectacular nights of music at Bowman Woods (Wed.) and Ellis Park (Sun.) — including the cool and cooling sounds of Leroy Anderson’s Sleigh Ride! Music gets underway at 7:30 pm. Also on the program: • The band features its own members as Nick and Josh Carlo perform a humorous clarinet/bassoon …

Read more

Week 7 is all about flutes. Well, and trombones. And other instruments, too. Like trumpets.

This week, the band returns to Cleveland Elementary School on Wednesday, July 17 and to Bever Park on Sunday, July 21. At this concert: • Iowa native Virginia Broffitt Kunzer, an Auburn University fluteprofessor, performs Faure’s “Fantasie” • Young Artist Competition runner-up Megan Bennett performs the Artunian trumpet concerto • Kennedy High School band director …

Read more

This week: Johnson STEAM Academy and Noelridge Park

On Wednesday night (7/10), we invite kids to become members of the band! Bring the kids to Johnson STEAM Academy at 6:15 to make their own instruments. The kids will get to play a song with the band during the performance! Also on Wednesday, students from Johnson STEAM Academy will perform at 6:30. Both the …

Read more