2019 Concert Schedule

The current concert schedule is shown below. Occasionally, it is necessary to cancel a concert due to weather. We cancel only to protect our players, crew, and audience. Concert will usually be attempted rather than cancelled for rain. Cancellations for rain will not be made before 5:30 PM. Concerts are cancelled immediately if lightning is seen. Announcements will be done through social media and the KMRY Weather Line at 393-0500. Click on a concert location to bring up a map showing where it is! All concerts start at 7:30 PM unless otherwise noted.

In addition, we have small groups at the Farmers Market this year! Come find us on 25 May, 1 June, and 15 June downtown.

Date Site
Wed Jun 5 New Bo City Market — YES, they are open on Wednesdays now!

Special Note: Please do not bring alcohol to this event. This is per New Bo’s liquor license. You should be able to purchase some on site.

Sun Jun 9 Bever Park with a prelude concert by the Cedar Rapids Youth Wind Ensemble at 6:30.
Wed Jun 12 Cleveland School
Sun Jun 16 Bever Park with a prelude concert by the New Horizons Band at 6:15.
Wed Jun 19 History Center. A new venue for us! Plenty of parking in the parkade next to the facility.
Sun Jun 23 Ellis Park with a prelude concert by CR Jazz at 6:30
Wed Jun 26 McGrath Amphitheater
Sun Jun 30 Bever Park
Wed Jul 3 Guthridge Park
Sun Jul 7 McGrath Amphitheater
Wed Jul 10 Johnson STEAM Academy with a prelude concert by the Johnson Elementary music groups! 6:30!
Sun Jul 14 Noelridge Park
Wed Jul 17 Cleveland School
Sun Jul 21 Bever Park with a prelude concert by the Coe College Youth Flute Ensemble
Wed Jul 24 Bowman Woods
Sun Jul 28 Ellis Park
Wed Jul 31 Noelridge Park
Sat Aug 3 Guthridge Park at 3 PM for Hiawatha Fun Days!
Sun Aug 4 Bever Park with a prelude concert by the Liberty Band at 6:30

Anyone who requires an auxiliary aid or service for effective communication, or a modification of policies or procedures to participate in a City program, service, or activity, should contact the Municipal Band Business Manager at 319-431-9649 or email business AT crmuniband.org as soon as possible but no later than 48 hours before the event.

We’re on!

The rain is gone. The band is here. Join us at 7:30 at Cleveland Elementary School for a great night of music!

Read more

Cleveland School, Bever Park…and around the world!

This week the band will bring great music to Cleveland Elementary School on Wednesday, June 12 (you might need a jacket!) and to Bever Park on Sunday, June 16. The New Horizons Band will perform a prelude concert at 6:15 p.m. on June 16. At this concert: Enjoy a musical celebration of Father’s Day, a …

Read more

Season kicks off this Wed., June 5!

The Cedar Rapids Municipal Band season gets underway this Wednesday with a concert at NewBo City Market. The market will be open. The band will perform this week’s program again on Sunday, June 9 at Bever Park. Both concerts begin at 7:30 pm; Sunday’s performance will be preceded by a 6:30 performance by the Cedar …

Read more

Commission Meeting 5 April 2019

UPDATE: DATE OF MEETING IS MOVED TO 5 APRIL BY REQUEST OF COMMISSION CHAIR. The City Band Commission will meet in formal session on Friday, 29 March 2019 5 April 2019, at 5 PM in the band room at Washington High School, 2205 Forest Drive SE. This will be a brief meeting, followed by auditions. …

Read more