2019 Concert Schedule

The current concert schedule is shown below. Occasionally, it is necessary to cancel a concert due to weather. We cancel only to protect our players, crew, and audience. Concert will usually be attempted rather than cancelled for rain. Cancellations for rain will not be made before 5:30 PM. Concerts are cancelled immediately if lightning is seen. Announcements will be done through social media and the KMRY Weather Line at 393-0500. Click on a concert location to bring up a map showing where it is! All concerts start at 7:30 PM unless otherwise noted.

In addition, we have small groups at the Farmers Market this year! Come find us on 25 May, 1 June, and 15 June downtown.

Date Site
Wed Jun 5 New Bo. Prelude concert by the Cedar Rapids Youth Wind Ensemble at 6:30.

Special Note: Please do not bring alcohol to this event. This is per New Bo rules.

Sun Jun 9 Bever Park
Wed Jun 12 Cleveland School
Sun Jun 16 Bever Park with a prelude concert by the New Horizons Band at 6:15.
Wed Jun 19 History Center. A new venue for us! Plenty of parking in the parkade next to the facility.
Sun Jun 23 Ellis Park with a prelude concert by CR Jazz at 6:30
Wed Jun 26 McGrath Amphitheater
Sun Jun 30 Bever Park
Wed Jul 3 Guthridge Park
Sun Jul 7 McGrath Amphitheater
Wed Jul 10 Johnson STEAM Academy with a prelude concert by the Johnson Elementary music groups! 6:30!
Sun Jul 14 Noelridge Park
Wed Jul 17 Cleveland School
Sun Jul 21 Bever Park with a prelude concert by the Coe College Youth Flute Ensemble
Wed Jul 24 Bowman Woods
Sun Jul 28 Ellis Park
Wed Jul 31 Noelridge Park
Sat Aug 3 Guthridge Park at 3 PM for Hiawatha Fun Days!
Sun Aug 4 Bever Park with a prelude concert by the Liberty Band at 6:30

Anyone who requires an auxiliary aid or service for effective communication, or a modification of policies or procedures to participate in a City program, service, or activity, should contact the Municipal Band Business Manager at 319-431-9649 or email business AT crmuniband.org as soon as possible but no later than 48 hours before the event.

Commission Meeting 5 April 2019

UPDATE: DATE OF MEETING IS MOVED TO 5 APRIL BY REQUEST OF COMMISSION CHAIR. The City Band Commission will meet in formal session on Friday, 29 March 2019 5 April 2019, at 5 PM in the band room at Washington High School, 2205 Forest Drive SE. This will be a brief meeting, followed by auditions. …

Read more

We’re hiring! Social Media Coordinator needed!

The Municipal Band is looking for someone to manage our social media presence throughout the year. This position is on a yearly contract, pay is $1200 per year (two pay periods, $600 each). Most of the work will occur in June and July, but there will be things to do throughout the year. The Social …

Read more

CRMB Auditions! 29 March and 5 April

The Cedar Rapids Municipal Band, a professional concert band that presents 18 (or more!) concerts in area parks, will hold its annual auditions on Friday, 29 March, and Friday, 5 April, in the band room at Cedar Rapids Washington High School at 2205 Forest Drive SE. There are known openings for Clarinet, Bassoon, and Horn. …

Read more

Ooops!

Finally missed the change of year and listed 2018 in our post about the Young Artist Competition. That post has been corrected. The PDF poster was correct, however. My apologies!

Read more